Leave Review
Susan Cugini
Oct 17, 2018
I'll include before and after pictures once my new backsplash kitchen tile is installed but had to run home and give a review on my extremely positive experience I just had today with Denise Vincelette Van Hise owner of Carpet & Tile by the Mile 554 Boston Post Rd, Milford. It has taken me 4 1/2 years, yes you read that right LOL, literally years to decide on a backsplash color, pattern, and design. I have felt so overwhelmed looking at the vast selection of tiles they have out there these days. Do I go with ceramic, marble, porcelain, perhaps a funky metal, maybe a chic glass? Just when you think you've narrowed it down to materials, you realize you now have design and pattern choices. Do you want herringbone, diamonds, squares, subway tiles... Anytime I walked into a store that sells tiles, it felt overwhelming to me seeing the select generic samples to choose from. They always seemed to be off by a shade in color or missing the little extra over the stove piece to give it the wow factor. As helpful as some sales people genuinely have tried to be, they were just as lost as me and clearly lacked in interior design skills and home decorating knowledge. So, time after time, I'd either leave the store empty handed or come home with a handful of samples only to find they were off by a few shades, leaving me once again feeling frustrated with this whole decorating process. Just when I threw in the towel and nixed the idea of a backsplash, my cooking skills soon reminded me of the "need" for tile, as I unintentionally decorated the wall with a lovely shade of red. Red Bertolli and Olive Oil spaghetti sauce if you dare to compete with my present look. So today I decided to venture out and try something different as I clearly was getting no where with the big box stores and pulled directly into the Carpet & Tile by the Mile parking lot. It's easy to find with the big sign. Parking is plentiful and convenient. As soon as I walked in I immediately felt in awe of all the beautiful and endless choices of tiles, carpets, flooring and more... I was immediately greeted with a smile from a lovely lady who introduced herself as Denise. She asked how she could help me, so I showed her the pictures of my kitchen cabinets and granite countertop and explained what I was wanting. I think she could sense my anxiety from past experiences and immediately put my mind at ease assuring me she had a perfect match for me that would compliment my kitchen style and colors, walked me over to a beautiful tile sample, and sure enough, it was exactly what I was wanting! Denise has an excellent sense of design and style. I appreciated her patience with me trying to decide on certain details. When it was apparent she has a keen eye for decorating, I trusted her suggestions on grout, tile style, and the little decorative over the stove piece that gives it the finished look. She made sure I had all of the needed supplies, was quick, efficient, professional, detail oriented, and all around a pleasant person to work with. I highly recommend Carpet & Tile by the Mile and will be returning to buy carpet for my bedrooms in the near future. 😊
Posted On
George G.
Oct 13, 2018
Wonderful experience buying tile for my master bathroom, Denise let me take several tiles home to see how they would look. This proved to be very helpful in finally selecting one of the three tiles. They set me up with thinset mortar and grout for a DIY project which came out beautifully. Now I smile every time I walk into my master bathroom. George G
Posted On
A. Zito
Oct 06, 2018
I highly recommend this place - best tile experience ever! I just remodeled my kitchen and after having selected the countertop, I thought the hard decisions were done. Not so. Turns out the backsplash was even more challenging. Good grief, how do I draw it all together? A family member recommended I take a look at “Carpet and Tile by the Mile.” The minute I walked in I was excited. The showroom has so many choices and styles to choose from, yet it was comfortable and easy to look around. I narrowed down the main tile for the backsplash, but I was stumped by the accent and decorative tiles. I started working with Denise and in two visits she helped me realize the vision and bring the whole project together. Her honest, specific guidance coupled with her design experience, brought my kitchen to life. She paid attention to the details, sifted through my ideas and advised me on all aspects, including installation tips. The price was fair and the tiles arrived within a week after ordering. They were beautiful and I love my kitchen. I can’t say enough good things about my experience. If you are looking for tiles or flooring for any project, look no further. Carpet and Tile by the Mile is the full Monty.
Posted On
James grubial
Sep 14, 2018
Trevor and his team did a terrific job, very fair ptice combined with excellent workmanship. I’ve alreah asked them to give me estimates on tiling the first floor.
Posted On
Denise
Aug 28, 2018
Trevor and Denise are a good team. They answered so many out of the ordinary questions as we have had so many issues with having tile floor. We’ve had 3 tile floors in a 10 year span. The last being done only two years ago failed again. They did what they promised in the time line promised. I was pleased during installation that there was no obscenities screamed or loud music. I was able to understand everything in English and not have to translate a foreign language. They did a careful neat job and at a reasonable price. Before leaving daily they cleaned up and came back after the floor sat for the weekend to identify any issues that they may have not addressed. Quality control was great there work was neat and professional. Trevor went the extra mile to insure the quality of the floor. He identified previous floor faults and assured me this would be the last floor. This was music to our ears. Trevor and Jeff made sure everything was perfect without making you feel you were picky or particular. My husband who is extremely hard to please was happy with this job and that’s not something I hear often. There are so many contractors that do their job and move on without taking the time for finishing the details. This in my opinion makes you walk away saying I made the right/wrong choice. Give them an opportunity to show you quality and they come through shining. I recommend Carpet and Tile to anyone needing quality work.
Posted On
Kimberly Hewson Nolan
Jun 29, 2018
My go-to! I have been working with Denise and Trevor for more than a decade. I am an interior designer and have shopped here for business as well as for my own home. The store is a manageable size, but filled with so many choices. I really love the specialty tiles; with so many tile super stores, I still find things here that others don’t have. Great selection, customer service, prices and super easy parking! So worthwhile!!!
Posted On
Erin Flynn
Jun 14, 2018
This is our 3rd time using Carpet and Tile by the Mile for tile (2 bathroom tile floors and kitchen backsplash tile) and each time was exceptional! Denise is so helpful, patient and great with style and color suggestions. They are reasonably priced and have a great selection. And it feels so good to support a local business. Sure, we looked at some other stores, but each time ended up back at Carpet and Tile by the Mile...don't waste your time with anyone else because they are the BEST!
Posted On
Erin Kelly Flynn
Jun 14, 2018
This is our 3rd time using Carpet and Tile by the Mile for tile (2 bathroom tile floors and kitchen backsplash tile) and each time was exceptional! Denise is so helpful, patient and great with style and color suggestions. They are reasonably priced and have a great selection. And it feels so good to support a local business. Sure, we looked at some other stores, but each time ended up back at Carpet and Tile by the Mile...don't waste your time with anyone else because they are the BEST!
Posted On
Bill and Grayce Mower
May 25, 2018
This is the second time we have used Carpet & Tile by the mile, I cannot say enough about their professionalism and attention to detail. The first time we had carpeting for the living room, this time was replacing the kitchen floor due to water damage on the wood floor. they were great and very patient because we were dealing with several different contractors and insurance people. We finally had the floor installed and I just love it . Thank you Trevor and Denise for everything. They are the best because they are not only local business people but they are long time Milford neighbors.
Posted On
michael turiano
May 07, 2018
Denise and Trevor are great. Trevor did an awesome job installing my new carpet. highly recommend for all of your tile and carpet needs
Posted On
K Mathes
Apr 12, 2018
I called out of the blue for a fix on torn up carpet. Denise and Carpet & Tile By the Mile were very responsive and fixed the carpet very quickly. I highly recommend them for their professionalism and turn around time. Thank you!
Posted On
Sandra De Rosa Briggs
Mar 04, 2018
I originally got my mohawk floors installed 20 years ago and I STILL couldn't be happier . At 1 point I considered putting carpet in my basement, picked out some samples but didn't follow through for over a year. When I walked in the shop Denise greeted me warmly, remembered what I was looking for and pulled some samples right away. They are not just business owners, they are friends and they genuinely care about their customers happiness. I highly recommend them.
Posted On
Luca Sue ZQ
Feb 21, 2018
Excellent! Outstanding! Wouldn’t use anyone else...
Posted On
Shannon Nappi Zwolinski
Feb 21, 2018
Posted On
LeBeau Anastasia
Feb 21, 2018
The best experience ever! Remodeled all the rooms in my home and this store had everything we liked and needed. The owners made everything so easy and the prices were great! I highly recommend this place. You will not be disappointed.
Posted On
Joan
Jan 18, 2018
We recently moved to Milford and needed to update and brighten our main floor bathroom. Carpet & Tile By The Mile had a great selection and we found the perfect tile to transform our bathroom. Trevor and his team did a great job installing the tile and adding all new trim. We were very satisfied with the experience and as small business owners ourselves, we were happy to support a local business. Highly recommend!
Posted On
Denise Dee D'Onofrio
Jan 04, 2018
Trevor put in new carpet in our multi-family in West Haven. It was a pleasure dealing with his wife and youngest son when they came to do the measurements. Trevor did not try to upsell us on the carpet and did the install that weekend because we had tenants that wanted to move in. Top notch and trust-worthy people and service. I will be calling Trevor again when we have more carpeting needs in the other apartments. Thank you.
Posted On
Margaret Vieira
Jan 04, 2018
Couldn't believe how amazing the renovations in my friend's home came out. Definitely will be using Carpet and Tile by the Mile myself in the future!
Posted On
Marilyn
Sep 06, 2017
After 18 years I decided to return to Carpet by the Mile. I'm glad I did. They have a great selection, and are extremely knowledgeable about the products. The installers were very skilled, and professional. There's a good reason why they have been in business for so long. Customer satisfaction is a priority.
Posted On
Pam R
Feb 22, 2017
Trevor and Denise are very professional. They have done a few jobs for us and everything went smoothly. The quote is reasonable, accurate and with details, the job is done correctly, and I always can call and ask them questions for an advise. Strongly recommended!
Posted On
John & Dorine Mosher
Dec 22, 2016
Great local business. We haven't purchased carpet in almost 20 years and had no idea where to go. Carpet & Tile By The Mile had so many great reviews, that we decided to give them a try. Very happy with the choices, the service and the installation. Joe and Bill, the installers, were great. Neat, clean and just really nice guys. Trevor came by and inspected the end result to make sure we were happy. We will be back for our next carpet purchase.
Posted On
Michelle Long
Oct 27, 2016
Don't go anywhere else when looking for tile or carpet. Trevor made the renovations on 3 bathrooms and carpeting in the majority of the house easy and stress free. I'm so happy that I checked this place out when I was looking for tile. I went to other places, but they just didn't do it for me. The no pressure atmosphere and the selection was what really got me hooked. I don't even think about going to any other store and I've recommended to all my friends. If you choose them, you won't regret it.
Posted On
Sherrie C
Jun 16, 2016
Trevor and his crew did a great job! The carpet they installed in my three bedrooms looks great and is very soft. They also cut my doors down for me because the carpet was a little to thick. I will definitely use them down the road for carpet in my basement.
Posted On
Michelle L
Mar 12, 2016
I cannot thank Trevor and Denise enough for the super quick awesome job that they did! Trevor was our hero when our original installer flaked half-way through and we were in the midst of moving into our new place. Denise was so patient and helpful in having a great assortment of carpets in stock - specifically high end carpet that we were desperately seeking and could not find in stock anywhere in the area. They were so kind and compassionate during our crisis and stayed late to install that night. Trevor was even awesome with my kids rolling all over the carpet in excitement during installation! We are so grateful and cannot recommend them highly enough. The carpet is so comfy and we are so pleased with their service. Thank you Denise and Trevor for saving the day!
Posted On
Kathy M
Nov 11, 2015
The owner,Denise was friendly,knowledgeable and extremely helpful. She delivered exactly what she promised exactly when she promised it (which is very rare these days indeed). The installer Joe was exceptionally professional and hard working. I would recommend this company very highly. Thank you for the great work.
Posted On
Kathleen M
Aug 12, 2015
Very friendly service with lots of ideas and inspiration. There is a great varied selection and the materials look beautiful in my home. I will definitely recommend to friends and family. And will go back for future needs for our home.
Posted On
Marilyn M
Aug 09, 2015
This was a great place to find tile and install my kitchen backsplash. Would not hesitate to work with them again. They were able to get the work done in a timely manner, placed tiles in a well balanced arrangement around the window, cabinets and light switches and were focused on the details that made the tile and accent pieces fit well. I am thrilled with the finish product.
Posted On
Doreen F
Aug 08, 2015
I am thrilled with my new kitchen floor. Denise and Trevor are amazing to work with. Looking forward to working with them in the future!
Posted On
Michael G
Aug 08, 2015
I have hired Carpet and Tile by the Mile many times over ten or twelve years. They are prompt, easy to work with and provide great service. I'd highly recommend them for your carpet and flooring needs.
Posted On
Lisa P
Jun 19, 2015
The gang at Carpet & Tile do a great job right from the selection process through installation!
Posted On
Bonnie C
Jun 17, 2015
I used Tile By the Mile for major renovations in my last home. I have since moved and realize how much their workmanship and quality of materials improved the value and increased the equity of my former property. Now that I am in my new place I called on them to renovate my kitchen and install my pre-treated hardwood floors and bedroom carpeting. They transformed my kitchen to a “state of the art” work space. I am thrilled with their work and cannot recommend them more highly!!!
Posted On
Patti & Rich L
Jun 16, 2015
After going to several tile stores and not getting the help that we needed we decided to try Carpet & Tile By The Mile. Denise did a fabulous job helping us find just the right tile for our project. After looking at pictures of our kitchen she found the perfect color and pattern that we were looking for. Installation was prompt and professional and the end result is a beautiful backsplash that really enhances our new kitchen. We think Denise and Trevor, who did the installation, are awesome and would highly recommend them.
Posted On
Donna M
Jun 15, 2015
Awesome experience. Denise and Trevor are very personable and professional. and I love my new carpets!
Posted On
Murielle M
Jun 15, 2015
Homey, not big box mentality. Very nice
Posted On
Jan R
Jun 14, 2015
I have used Tile by the Mile for years. They have installed carpet, tile and most recently hardwood flooring. They are an exceptional company. Denise's suggestions are always right on, and Trevor's work is meticulous. They always go above and beyond to make sure the customer is satisfied. From the beginning you walk into the store, until the job is finished, you get quality service. Don't purchase anywhere until you visit them.
Posted On
Kelsey Lodge Robinette
May 15, 2015
Posted On
Lorraine M
May 08, 2015
Carpet & Tile By The Mile did an excellent job. Denise came over my house & helped with the carpet color choice. It was so nice to work with a personalized, family run business. The install went well. They worked clean; They were pleasant to be around & were very accommodating. I'm happy both with the service & the new carpet!!I highly recommend Carpet & Tile By The Mile
Posted On
Tim & Mary S
Apr 26, 2015
Denise did an excellent job helping us pick out the carpet that was best for us. She walked us through all the options in the show room highlighting what would be on sale soon and the differences between the choices. Trevor and his installation crew did a great job installing the carpet. They showed up when they were scheduled and were very professional. We are very pleased with the end result and would recommend this company to our friends and family.
Posted On
Susan & Stu N
Mar 23, 2015
Our new kitchen backsplash looks amazing thanks to both of you. I feel like we have a whole new kitchen. It made such a difference. Denise- you did a great job matching the backsplash and tile trim to the countertop. Trevor- you and the guys did a fantastic job of installing the tile (we love the extra rows of trim) above the oven. The new floor in the give the house a whole new look. We can't wait to work with you both on the downstairs.
Posted On
Ana Mena Mena
Jan 22, 2015
Posted On
Lenny Addario
Jan 19, 2015
Posted On
Pure Home Interiors
Jan 07, 2015
Knowledgeable, helpful and truly a pleasure to work with. From sourcing hard to find items to suggesting alternatives, Denise is invaluable. I have relied on he...
Posted On
Pure Home Interiors
Jan 07, 2015
Knowledgeable, helpful and truly a pleasure to work with. From sourcing hard to find items to suggesting alternatives, Denise is invaluable. I have relied on her expertise for many projects. Thanks for making my job easier!
Posted On
Diane K
Nov 09, 2014
We love the carpet! The two men that installed it were the most professional and nicest people! The kids also love it... Mya was doing cartwheels all night and just laying on it and asked if we could leave it empty lol! Thank you again for all your help! You are the best!!!
Posted On
Mark G
Jul 14, 2014
You couldn't ask for better installation job than the one you will receive from Trevor and his crew. They are OUTSTANDING! When we were picking a company for this work at our home they should be your first and only choice. We will be a repeat customer in our next home that is for sure.
Posted On
Evelyn Castro
Jun 11, 2014
Posted On
Linda S
Apr 19, 2014
You couldn't ask for better installation job than the one you will receive from Trevor and his crew. They are OUTSTANDING! When we were picking a company for this work at our home they should be your first and only choice. We will be a repeat customer in our next home that is for sure.
Posted On
MaryAnn S
Mar 13, 2014
Carpet & Tile by the mile does excellent work. I have used them for over 15 years to carpet all the rooms in my home. The service and installation are excellent. I would never use anyone else but them. Only reason we are installing new carpeting is because carpeting has been soiled by many pets otherwise the carpeting itself has never worn out because of wear and tear. I am having new carpeting in living room in a few weeks. After that it will be new flooring in the kitchen. Their prices are great and they are very customer orientated. I am a very satisfied customer. I am very sure if you need carpeting or flooring you will be very satisfied with them.
Posted On
James Van Hise
Jan 28, 2014
Posted On
Jenna Van Hise
Jan 28, 2014
Posted On
Maria A
Jan 22, 2014
Our tile backsplash for our kitchen is perfect! The process was efficient and the customer service was exceptional. From the moment we walked into the store to choose samples through the installation, the staff and owners made it very comfortable and easy and the outcome is fabulous. The owners go the extra mile and I would choose Carpet & Tile by the mile for future needs.
Posted On
Sarah G
Jan 06, 2014
My husband and I are getting ready to sell our home and we knew we needed to "upgrade" our finished lower level to create a better first impression. Understanding that we didn't want to spend a fortune, both Trevor and Denise gave us their expert opinions and ensured we stayed within our budget. We should have done this a couple of years ago so we could have gotten to enjoy it more! Their guidance, professionalism, and quality of work is greatly appreciated!
Posted On
L & T M
Oct 11, 2013
We had basement and stair carpeting and bathroom tiles installed in our home and the Carpet and Tile by the Mile family were true professionals. Very well done - they listened to our thoughts and helped walk us through the design and layout - We are very satisfied and will be hiring them again!
Posted On
Ernie & Sharon B
Oct 11, 2013
Was extremely happy with the speedy help from Carpet & Tile By The Mile. Spilled paint one day and had the entry step carpet replaced in two days! Joe did a fantastic job, carpet looks like it was never damaged. Thank you Denise and Trevor.
Posted On
Jim O'Connor
Jul 23, 2013
Posted On
Nicole Kincaid
May 01, 2013
Posted On
Mark Prete
Mar 25, 2013
Posted On
Joe & Luise P
Jan 26, 2013
We just had carpet installed after Hurricane Sandy. Both Denise and Trevor and everyone we dealt with were great. They were here in a hurry and did an amazing job for us. We are so very satisfied and recommend them to all our friends. Thanks so much for making a difficult time a little easier.
Posted On